Exercise: Primary and Secondary Colours

I hadn’t expected this part of the course to be easy… though thinking of it, photographing six different colours should be fairly straight forward however it was anything but easy.

Once you’d attuned yourself to noticing every colour around you it was incredible how many leapt out at you from the abundant green even discoverable in a busy town centre. The sky offers an assortment of colours on a daily basis, though up until today that was mostly grey. It was amazing how when you knew the way to look that an ordinary street could turn into a kaleidoscopic wonderland.

The brief was to photograph six different colours with three different exposures and analyse the change of colour, contrast and in the process refine your colour sense. It also stated that we were to look for these colours in nature not relying on man made surfaces. With that restricted the exercise became quite challenging. I also had to choose the photo which as nearest to the colour wheel.

However I have captured six colours.

Green

IMG_5524

IMG_5522

IMG_5525

I took this at the start of the exercise. I was testing the exposure through a rainy window at a bush outside. Though slightly unconventional I like how though the raindrops are the focus, the green bush dominates the photo.
The second photo matches the colour wheel best, keeping the hue and the contrast.

Yellow

IMG_5816

IMG_5817

IMG_5818

Using natural light from the window and some very uncooperative daffodils I set the vase next to the open window, using the blinds as a background. After shooting some photos with my standard zoom lens I changed to the macro to capture more detail and to get closer. I also introduced a water droplet to add interest.

The third photo is nearest in the colour wheel though the difference is slight between them.

Orange

IMG_5859

IMG_5860

IMG_5861

On exploring the garden I found these seed pods. Though slightly dead from a distance when I came closer I saw how the bold orange seeds really dominated the composition.

I think it’s a close run thing between the second and third photo. Though I’ll choose the second.

Purple

IMG_5868

IMG_5870

IMG_5869

Initially early in the year I captured this photo of the Osteosperum in all it’s glory but when I came to look for it it was a withered version of it’s former self. However it still looks beautiful and the purple was very striking against the background.

Photo two captures the colour wheel best.

Red

IMG_5981

IMG_5982

IMG_5983

This was probably the most elusive of all the colours to photograph in Winter. Hardly any flowers or roses and the fiery colours I wanted to capture in a sunset was a failure though we waited on the seafront for ages for it to set. Eventually with time going by I went to the local garden centre to hopefully find some red. I wasn’t disappointed. Two plants were perfect but this I think is the best with the flower pots in the background reinforce the tint.

I choose the first one as the one nearest the colour.

Blue

IMG_6025

IMG_6024

IMG_6023

The flower info says that this is blue. I found these clustered together with raindrops and only needed to take the photos several times to capture these.

Again I chose photo a) as the one nearest the colour.

So that was an interesting and challenging exercise and I feel I emerge a better photographer because of it. I didn’t hurry this part as recommended though I am happy to be going onto the next part of the course.

Leave a Reply

