Assignment Three

The final images for Assignment Three and my photographic analysis alongside each one. All the images can be seen in this short film I made her on IMovie. Sorry there is no sound, I posted it on Facebook and because there was music on it I was told to keep it down. So consider it a silent movie 🙂 Without music. Or to hear the musical version open a new tab, play this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCifUdogjO8  and press play on this video 😀

Love and a Little Bit of Magic by ChloeClik

Two of the photos aren’t included here as the boy who was the model didn’t want his photo online.

My name is Aria.

 IMG_8797

Complementary: Pink and green.

Plan and research.

This was quite a spontaneous photo. Initially I was wanting to capture photos of Aria throwing a pink ball into the sky for pink and blue, capturing it in motion so it was like telekinesis. However I wasn’t 100% happy with the overall images and while I was wondering what to do next I said my sister, who is acting as Aria, could have a break.

Shoot

Skye ran into the photo and I caught this photo of them. Positioning the sun behind her causes her hair to glow in harmony with the pastel colours, though it is the pink of her skirt that is the focus of the image. Even though it is only a small part of the image it shows that with the right colour, no matter how small, the eye will always be drawn there. It’s an interesting idea, using colour to make the viewer look exactly where you intend.

Colour and Emotion.

The mischievous, happy mood is reinforced with her expression and glowing natural surroundings. The pink of the skirt is striking and perhaps shows us the character of Aria. Yet the green is gentle and harmonising. The pink for love also starts the theme of the story.

And of course what sorcerer would be complete without a familiar, her cat.

I may look normal but I’m not.

IMG_8976

Similar colours. Yellow and orange.

Research and Planning.

This was very spontaneous.

Shoot.

I love how some of the best ideas can hit you at those moments where you’re not even thinking about photography. Waiting for my soup to cool down I held my glass of water over the spoon and saw my reflection peering back at me. Just like a crystal ball, or a scrying ball. To the amusement of everyone at the table I hurried off for a photo of my sister and placed it under the glass.

Colour and emotion. The orange and yellow are warm colours that grab the attention (also due to the dominating circular composition)

I have magic.

IMG_8777

Colour accent. Pink.

Planning and research.     

I knew I wanted the pink ball to be the colour accent, framed against the bold blue sky caused a vibrant contrast.

The Shoot

The positioning of my sisters arms lead the eye as well. I had initially had her throwing the ball in the air but that was quite tiring for her so instead I told her to stand above me (I was lying on the grass) and drop it on my face. Quite a scary experience and I think I closed my eyes while taking the photo. The unusual perspective creates drama and intrigue while the colours add dynamism to the shot, also showing her power.

Colour and Emotion.

Some could say that the eye is drawn to the human element but I feel in this case that the pink of the ball is so striking against the blue sky that the eye is directed there. I ensured that Aria is wearing pink to be in harmony with the ball and therefore show harmony as opposed to clashing colours that fought for attention. The magical element is Aria ‘levitating; the ball. This took several shoots getting her to throw the ball at the right height and also ensuring it was in focus. It highlights her mischievous and confident attitude though she lacks the confidence when it comes to the boy she loves.

 

I can make things happen.
But the real magic I want is love.
His Love

Colour accent. Pink.

Planning and research.

I wanted to take a photo that shows how Aria longs for Desmond to be her boyfriend. I needed a way to show how she thinks about him, imagines him being with her while not being too blatantly obvious and also keeping the magical theme. I started gathering ideas but none of them seemed strong enough.

The Shoot.

My sister and her boyfriend were playing with a ball in the garden and I stood in the conservatory watching taking photos. I suddenly noticed my sisters reflection in the open conservatory door glass. Changing my perspective slightly I could include her boyfriend framed between the door. Whilst my sister is the only reflection there, it also looks like she has conjured up a vision of how she wants to be with him. The colour accent comes from the bright pink ball that stands out, though it is only a small part of the photo. The ball is thrown to the reflections which lead the eye there and show how she is imagining how she wants her life to be.

Colour and Emotion.

The pink is a vibrant splash against a natural background, the green is a gentle peaceful colour again showing innocence and is also a contrast, the ball being a splash of magic in the world.

I did edit out a distracting chair.

But wait. I have magic. We will be together. Just not in a conventional way…

Time for a little love potion.

Complementary colours. Orange and Purple.

Planning and research.

Continuing with the scrying bowl rainbow glasses, I chose yellow and purple but then realised the colour was more orange. This was ok though as the colours are more or less opposite and worked well to create the message.

Shoot.

I used a photo where Des is deliberately looking across at Aria who is looking straight at the viewer as she is the narrator. The orange and yellow are warm colours that grab the attention (also due to the dominating circular composition) The rainbow glasses produced a natural coloured filter. I stood on a chair above the table with my 18-135mm lens and got as close as I could. My body blocked any light that would produce distracting reflections on the surface of the water. I love the bold and vibrant colours, accentuated by the water.

Colour and emotion.

The colours are extremely contrasting, especially as both are formed from the most powerful colour red. I think however that it works, the ratio is more or less the same and the colour also shows gender, however stereotypical, pink for Aria and orange for Des. The colour is works in the order in which you look at the image. The orange is stronger and the direction of Des’s gaze leads the viewer to look at Aria showing how the harmony works through both the story and the emotion. Each is a powerful colour showing their powerful feelings for each other.

Des is looking across at Aria showing how he likes her but as he has the darker colour it conveys that he’s in the dark about whether she loves him or not, but the glowing pink represents her love very strongly for him. The expressions also reinforce this. Especially Aria as she looks directly at the viewer so intent on using magic she doesn’t see his feelings for her.

When I ask my Mum. She says no! She says only true love works in the world.

IMG_0167

Similar colours. Blue and blue. Cool colours.

Planning and research.

 For this photo, Aria is staring angrily at her mother who is telling her that ‘No, she can not make a love potion’ I wanted to have the focus on Aria but at the same time showing her Mum, all this had to be in a creative way while also thinking about the colour. I was already planning taking a macro of my sister’s eye and then had the idea to include the reflection of her Mum. This would make it feel like you were actually seeing through Aria’s eyes.

The Shoot

Initially I took a photo when my sister had quite a lot of make-up on and the mascara really ruined the shot.

Without make-up (quite a feat for her) I had her sit in the garden, in the shade for soft lighting and experimented trying to get the reflection. I would only be able to see Mum in it if she sat directly in front of my sister. I sat at the side and told Mum to look angry. This wasn’t too easy, as we couldn’t stop laughing. Eventually despite my sister constantly moving with laughter, Mum’s expression being comical and me trying to keep the camera steady I got the photo I wanted. The problem but also the great thing about macro lenses is that the depth of field is very shallow and I had to be careful to focus correctly so the right part of the eye was in focus. I went through about fifty photos but chose this one as I felt the image of her Mum was clearer. I cropped the overall image slightly to hone in on her eye.

Colour and emotion.

The powerful colours in my sisters eye created so many different shades of blue. It is usually a calm and compassionate colour yet also can be used to show unfriendliness while at the same time also intelligence. I wanted to use a colour in a different way to see the effects. The pink around is calming and neutral causing the blue to become even stronger. You can see that it doesn’t matter what her Mum says, she is going ahead with this love potion.

The only editing was to slightly up the contrast to create a more impacting photo but Mum’s reflection was completely natural.

When I ask my Mum. She says no! She says only true love works in the world.

Similar colours. Blue and blue. Cool colours.

Planning and research.

 

For this photo, Aria is staring angrily at her mother who is telling her that ‘No, she can not make a love potion’ I wanted to have the focus on Aria but at the same time showing her Mum, all this had to be in a creative way while also thinking about the colour. I was already planning taking a macro of my sister’s eye and then had the idea to include the reflection of her Mum. This would make it feel like you were actually seeing through Aria’s eyes.

The Shoot

Initially I took a photo when my sister had quite a lot of make-up on and the mascara really ruined the shot.

Without make-up (quite a feat for her) I had her sit in the garden, in the shade for soft lighting and experimented trying to get the reflection. I would only be able to see Mum in it if she sat directly in front of my sister. I sat at the side and told Mum to look angry. This wasn’t too easy, as we couldn’t stop laughing. Eventually despite my sister constantly moving with laughter, Mum’s expression being comical and me trying to keep the camera steady I got the photo I wanted. The problem but also the great thing about macro lenses is that the depth of field is very shallow and I had to be careful to focus correctly so the right part of the eye was in focus. I went through about fifty photos but chose this one as I felt the image of her Mum was clearer. I cropped the overall image slightly to hone in on Amber’s eye.

 

Colour and emotion.

The powerful colours in my sisters eye created so many different shades of blue. It is usually a calm and compassionate colour yet also can be used to show unfriendliness while at the same time also intelligence. I wanted to use a colour in a different way to see the effects. The pink around is calming and neutral causing the blue to become even stronger. You can see that it doesn’t matter what her Mum says, she is going ahead with this love potion.

The only editing was to slightly up the contrast to create a more impacting photo but Mum’s reflection was completely natural.

No. She doesn’t understand!

IMG_0557

Similar colours. Red and yellow.

Initially I was going to photograph red and orange but I felt the colours were both quite powerful and decided to try something a little gentler. Though yellow is still a powerful and bright colour it doesn’t dominate the composition as powerfully as red does. The colours therefore should work quite well together.  I needed a photo where Aria is furious that her mother won’t let her create the love potion

  1. My sister stood in the hallway throwing a red jacket at my face. I was lying on the ground and having a jacket hurled right at you is quite a scary experience. I wanted to catch the jumper swirling in mid air with her in focus and the jacket an angry red blur to show the emotion.

Colour and Emotion

I needed to get across the feeling of helplessness, frustration and anger and the best colour to symbolise this was ‘red.’ The yellow was introduced as a calm element showing the goodness of Aria on the inside but how certain events can bring out the rage and anger in the best of people. The two images work together.

Thoughts. The composition could be better but it’s hard to made a flying jacket follow your rules. 😉

She enchants our cat, The Guardian to stop me.

IMG_9759

Similar colours. Green and yellow.

Planning and Research.

I wanted a way to show how the Guardian (aka our fat cat Skye) is being enchanted. I was taking photos of the wind chime and the green marble attached and really liked the harmony of the yellow background. I needed to include Skye though, who was helpfully sitting on the gym trampoline outside the window. (Mum does say he’s too fat to be the Guardian)

The Shoot.

I lay on the floor and hung the wind chime from the door handle. It took a bit to get the bauble exactly where I wanted and also for it to stop swinging and blurring the photos. I set the focus on the marble and used a wide aperture to blur Sky out through the raindrops, but not too much that his form was indistinguishable.

Colour and emotion.

The yellow and green are really in harmony in this photo with the marble reflecting all the colours around. You can feel the effect of the ‘amulet’ hypnotising Skye. I tapped on the window to get him to look directly at the amulet. Thanks to the fact that it was raining the colours are powerful and vibrant. I really like this colour combination as it feels really natural.

The Guardian is always there.  And always watching.

IMGP3920

Colour accent. Red.

 Planning and research.

The Guardian is always watching and I needed a colourful way to express this.

I shot this when Skye was outside and it started to rain. He stood at the door looking angrily in. The colours outside were so lush and his expression classic so I couldn’t resist taking several photos quickly.

Shoot.

I used the rule of thirds and took the photo when his head was slightly turned to the right, you can feel his annoyed mood as he looks at the door handle waiting me to hurry up and finish the photo.

Colour and emotion.

I love the vibrant green made stronger by the water droplets and wide aperture. My favourite part of the image however is the power the colour red has, even when it’s only a tiny part of an image it is so vibrant, dominating and clearly grabs the viewer’s attention but not in a dominating way, with the similar colour of Skye’s nose the red flowers serve to balance the image and strike repetition.

Good thing I have magic too. I can’t remove the enchantment but I can manipulate it to work for me.

Complementary colours. Red and green.

Scrying bowl

Planning and research.

Those who know me know that I adore reflections, puddles and mirrors in general, not in a vain way, I just love the different images of the world it gives us. This was perfect for a crystal ball, better in fact as with a proper crystal ball the image would be distorted, curved and the reflection would be pretty much determined by the glass. With a mirror however I just needed to angle it wherever I wanted and there, the Guardian was framed in the mirror.

The Shoot

The moment I spotted my sister sitting with the cats on the lawn I grabbed my camera, dashed outside and found out that at last she was free for a photoshoot. I’m quite happy lying on the grass in sun or rain but she wasn’t so eager. Once the rug was on the grass and Mum’s mirror (the crystal ball) was in hand I started taking photos.

Usually Skye moves as much as a rock on a time-lapse photo, i.e, not at all. Yet for some reason he kept getting up and running off. I put my camera down to go and get him put him back in position go back to get the camera, see my sister had moved the mirror slightly, return the mirror to show Skye, pick up the camera, get back in position and see that Skye had run off again. Eventually Skye settled down in the grass but I couldn’t get him in the mirror without including myself. I moved round to the driveway to shoot across the lawn with my zoom lens.

Skye really got into the acting mood and started striking some very heroic poses. He gave the perfect expression just as I clicked the shutter.

Colour and emotion.

The red shows the power of her love and her determination as she will do almost anything to create this love potion. Yet the green is always included to balance the photo and also to show that she is doing this for a good reason. The red draws the attention to her and the sun caught it at the right moment so the bottom part of her dress is illuminated around the ‘crystal ball.’

Quick, we can’t be caught.

IMG_0092

Complementary. Orange and blue.

Plan and Research.

The two colours I decided to work with next were orange and blue.  They are an interesting combination; they are basically opposites in terms of the emotion and connotations they evoke. Orange is a blend of red and yellow, two of the most powerful colours. They demand attention and it’s easy to see why red and orange are used for hazard and radiation signs. Whereas blue has feelings of calmness and peacefulness. Therefore it was going to be a challenge making sure that the orange didn’t completely overpower the image.  First I had my sister, to be Aria. Luckily she lives and breathes fashion so going to her wardrobe is like visiting a department store, I’m never stuck for colour ideas. It was late afternoon so the sun was covering everything in nice warm rays.

The Shoot

With the sun burning down and bees bumbling very very close to my head I took several photos at different angles, varying exposures trying to capture the colour despite the sun, which was determined to have a silhouette party.

I had to be careful using a powerful colour so it wouldn’t overwhelm the photo. That’s why a shallow DOF worked. The mind loves photos with a narrow depth of field because it works in the way that it latches onto the sharpest part of an image. The orange colour is still there creating an attracting border but because of the shallow DOP the attention is led from the orange straight to Aria and the Guardian. This may also be to do with the human-interest element, you don’t need to think what the focal point is, people are instantly drawn to other humans in photos. Even in a wide angle landscape the eye will almost always be guaranteed to find the tiny silhouette at the edge of the cliff face. So although this was to show contrast it also works together in harmony. I also had to bear in mind the ratio of orange and blue which I think I achieved. Orange Blue 1:2

Colour and Emotion

Aria is looking around nervously incase her family see that she has disobeyed their orders to recreate a love potion. The orange shows danger while the blue shows that she isn’t doing this for a bad reason, she just wants the boy so much.

There was no editing. The colours are so powerful, I didn’t adjust the brightness and contrast. The colours harmonise powerfully. I could have edited out the roof in the background but it shows how she is gathering these ingredients in plain sight of her house. Perhaps the white circle on the house feels like an eye watching her.

Golden Nectar for the love potion.

IMG_0055

Contrasting. Orange and green.

Planning. This was a spontaneous photo and there was little planning involved.

The Shoot.

After completing the photo of Aria and Skye in the orange bush, I turned my attention to the bush. Orange and green are beautiful natural colours, orange is powerful and dominating a contrast of gentle natural green. Therefore the orange needed to be the focal point.

Colour and emotion.

Framed against the gentle green background the contrast is powerful yet there is harmony as well. It shows the vibrant magic ingredient in the orange.

The Love Potion is ready.

Contrasting. Pink and blue.

Planning and research.

This was one of the shoots that wasn’t on the initial plan. I noticed some flower petals on the driveway being battered by the rain. When it stopped I rescued one of the petals filled with rainwater and brought it inside.

The Shoot.

I took some experimental shots with my standard lens then switched to macro placing the petal on the windowsill to use the natural light. The blue scarf provides a gentle background, not too pale but not to dominating. The white rabbit pattern seems to be looking at the petal though I didn’t need that to draw the eye. That was thanks to the bull’s eyes composition, risky, but I needed the attention drawn straight to the petal. By tilting it slightly the water bubbled around the stem and produced a heart, which in turn reflected off the diagonal windowpanes with a X; the love potion was complete.

Colour and emotion.

The blue of the scarf is a gentle peaceful colour allowing for the dominant pink to shine through and take centre stage. The element of red is here again always showing how dominating a colour it is. And of course pink is the colour of love and in this case a very powerful young love.

The sun starts the magic as I drink.

IMG_9821

Contrasting. Blue and red.

Planning and Research

I knew I wanted a photo showing Aria standing on the beach with the sun. Midday wouldn’t have been any good as the sun would be too high and the lighting too harsh. Early dawn was out of the question as my model, Amber is a teenager, so that left sunset.

The Shoot

We arrived half an hour early when the sun was still in the sky but casting transparent rays across the beach. I notched up the exposure slightly to retain detail from her silhouette. I’d planned for the colours blue and orange and my sister was wearing a blue jumper. However, the sun wasn’t a deep enough colour. The sky was though so quickly I got my poor sister to swap jumpers, I’d brought along a red. Standing in t-shirts on the ice-cold beach was one of the most memorable photographic shoots.

She stood on the jetty facing the sun so the warm light would enhance her clothing, bathe her face in a gorgeous glow and also so she would shine out of the picture.

Colour and Emotion. Tied in with Aria’s expression and pose the burning red takes over the image so it feels she is flying. The blue is gentle and peaceful around her contrasting and allowing the focus to be on the red. It seemed the best colour to use to imply power and strength. The blue is also there as hope that the potion will work.

It didn’t work!

IMG_0316

Colour accent. Red.

Aria is furious that after all that work the love potion has failed. Angrily she hurls it across the garden

Again there was no research involved, this was a very spontaneous shoot, I just knew that I needed my sister to hurl something across the garden. I spotted a glass of Ribena someone had left and decided that was perfect. I only had one chance to get it right.

 Shoot

I used AV and focused the subject, continuous shooting to capture the Ribena.

Colour and emotion.

This was an experiment to show the effect that red has in a photo. The drink is the colour accent but Aria’s jumper is also very powerful. I wanted to see which was the strongest colour as red is supposed to be the most dominating. It’s a close one but the red is stronger and visibly appears as though it’s coming out of the photo. As my sister said, it looks like I’ve just glued the red spill on my camera lens (something I never would do) The red also conveys the anger as that is one of the emotions connoted with it.

Then…the phone call from him.

IMG_0254

Contrasting. Purple and green.

Research and planning.

Just as Aria has given up hope she gets a phone call from him. It turns out he loved her all along. She didn’t need the love potion.

From my initial plan I just needed purple and green for my colour assignment.

The Shoot.

We grabbed Mum’s purple jumper, I set the picnic rug out for Your Highness, so the lush green of the foliage was behind her. Then I had to say a series of random things to get the reaction I wanted, though to be fair my sister was in quite a giggly mood and pulled off every pose, even those I didn’t want.

It took about fifty photos to get the right one (due to her giggly mood)

Colour and emotion.  The purple and green contrast well together, the purple showing the magic and mystery of the phone call and the green also serving to show how she didn’t need magic, nature (associated with green) worked everything out in its own way.

The photos in the colour order. (2 missing to preserve male model identity)

Contrasting 

Complementary.

Similar 

Colour Accent

Assessment Criteria.

Demonstration of Technical and Visual Skills

I feel I have used a great deal of different materials for this assignment, instead of relying on Photoshop for some of the ‘magical’ elements I have found my own way to reproduce them naturally. For instance using reflections and mirrors. I didn’t have any coloured filters so produced my own by using coloured glasses.

I’ve used lines and other elements to lead the eye where I intended in the photo. I have thought about the ratio of colour as I was photographing though sometimes I have done my own thing when I think it benefits the photo. Perhaps a risky strategy but it’s good to have the rules in mind then divert from them when necessary.

I haven’t lunged straight into taking the photo, instead I’ve planned carefully for some of the shoots bearing in mind, colour, lighting and composition. I feel the composition is varied as well, rule of thirds, bulls eye composition and noting the effects that each has.

Quality of Outcome.

I am really pleased with the final photos, I feel I’ve challenged myself a great deal with this shoot but believe that it has paid off. The colour is pronounced and each photo is a single element in a larger scheme. I’ve enjoyed using a model for the shoot and not only is it different to my initial assignments it was also more challenging but extremely rewarding.

I have presented my work in a coherent manner and have brought across my views and thoughts when approaching this assignment both with what I am pleased with and what I feel I could have done differently. For instance I would have liked to experiment with some long exposures and this is something I am going to try my hand at.

Demonstration of Creativity.

This is always my favourite part of assignments, using your creativity and imagination to create a series of photos based on the criteria but with your own spin. I love following the criteria but also throwing my own flair on it. I was just asked to photography the relationship between colours but fascinated by the psychology of colour I created my own story showing how the colours and emotions related to each other to convey and reinforce the atmosphere the story and photos are portraying. When it comes to the personal voice I’m slightly confused whether it means how I write the essay and learning log or the personal voice shining through the photos. In this case I feel I am more relaxed with my learning log, expressing my ideas in a fun but clear way. And through my photos I hope that it’s visible to see my passion for creating unusual and different photos. I’ve really enjoyed this assignment, at parts I have felt that I have taken on quite a lot with the whole theme but much more I have enjoyed creating a series of different photos that all tie in together. I also have created the photos into a short clip on IMovie which I am going to post on my blog. (I did have music on the backdrop but then read about the copyright rules of doing so and therefore it is a silent movie. Still at least the focus can be on the photos then.

Context.

I am pleased to say that my learning log is now in coherent order thanks to help from a fellow course mate and also a great friend. I’ve studied a wide range of photographers noting their style and effect, also psychology of colour. I have searched for art exhibitions nearby but haven’t found any in my area therefore that part is blank.

One of the newest features of my learning log is ‘Photographic Interviews’ with fellow photographers (it has it’s own section on my blog). I got the idea when I was studying professional photographer works and had many questions I would like to ask them. Obviously contacting them wasn’t suitable so I turned to my art website, DeviantArt and posted a journal asking whether anyone would like to take part. I was really pleased with the response and in exchange for giving them a feature and some promotion I learnt a great deal about photography and different techniques and the ways in which every photographer brings something different to their photography, whether using it as a means to highlight the vulnerability of the planet and its creatures, or showing the power or beauty of nature. Even using it as a way to escape the real word and become lost in the wonderful world of photography.

Things I am going to try next.

I’m going to develop more of my learning log researching more photographers and different techniques. I need to include more photography books and my analysis off them as at the moment that section is quite small.

I am going to try my hand at long exposures. Especially on something like moving vehicles at night. I have purchased Michael Freemans book on night and low light photography

I’m going to do a project taking the same photos with an SLR and a film camera and noting the difference. I’m quite excited about this one.

I want to try different genres of photography like Astro photography. I have also always wanted to capture the pre dawn lighting and as I will be going to Scotland this will be a great place to test it.

I can’t wait for Assignment Four and already have several ideas in mind.

Chloe 😀

Leave a Reply

